The Plains State Bank, founded in 1906, has a rich history of serving rural Kansas. At the turn of the century John and Frank Collingwood headed to western Kansas to build their farming operation. After building an elevator in Plains, the men realized the need for a bank in Plains. Once they had gathered some capital the brothers chartered The Plains State Bank on July 7, 1906, with capital of $10,000.00. The first board of directors included: D. Frank Collingwood, J.H. Collingwood, Joe G. Collingwood, John A. Collingwood, Ella Demoret and Samuel Demoret.

John A. Collingwood served as the first bank president, and through the years The Plains State Bank has kept its tradition of serving Kansas with integrity and innovation. Today the Bank prides itself on these same values as they did 110 years ago of providing exceptional banking services to Kansas.

Today the bank has expanded to the Kansas communities of Lakin, Great Bend, Hutchinson, Liberal, Anthony, Harper and a BANK VI location in Salina. It not only provides the same quality customer service but has maintained a competitive position with modern banking services that allows our customers to benefit from efficient electronic banking products.

The current Board of Directors is Daniel Clawson, Chairman, David Clawson, D. Gene Dikeman, II, Christy Kuhn, Lance Woodbury, Jeff Sternberger, Daran Neuschafer, A.J. Schwartz, Cooper Clawson, Kendal Clawson, and advisory director Kirby B. Clawson. 

At Plains State Bank, we are "Making your Success Simple” and our Employees, Officers and Directors are committed to our customers.



Helpful Information

Need assistance? Have questions? If you can't find what you're looking for, we're happy to help.